FAQ

QWhat surfaces and substrates can Thermoshield® coatings be applied to?

AThey can be directly applied to wood, OSB, foam insulation, existing stucco, aluminum siding, dense glass, concrete (pre-cast, poured and block), masonry, glazed ceramic, brick, metals and many plastics. In addition they can be applied to a variety of substrates concurrently with no special preparation.

QWhat's the difference between Thermoshield® Decorative Exterior Finish and synthetic stucco or concrete finishes?

AThermoshield® is the only non-cementitous, acrylic, ceramic, waterproof, decorative exterior coating system that has been formulated for the harsh conditions found in the mountain west. Thermoshield® will adhere to all common building substrates and when completed, will give the luxurious appearance of concrete and stucco, without the inherent problems associated with synthetic and traditional stucco systems.

QCan I use Thermoshield® coatings to repair EIFS (Exterior Insulated Finish System) and other synthetic coating applications?

AYes. Thermoshield® is commonly used to save concrete, stucco and can be brushed, rolled and sprayed on, like regular paint.

QIs color a problem?

ANo. Thermoshield® can match or create virtually any color or shade desired.

QWhat type of maintenance is required?

AThermoshield® is made of 40% ceramic micro-spheres dispersed evenly throughout the membrane. These ceramics are extremely good at shedding dirt and self-cleaning with rain or even breeze and wind. You can look at a sample of any of our coatings under microscope and see that a great deal of the surface is ceramic micro-spheres. In the United Arab Emirates, there are many Thermoshield® flat roofs, and blowing sand and dust are always present in that part of the world. Looking at these roofs after 7 and 8 years, they are very white, almost like new. In fact, some consultants actually believed these roofs were less than one year old. The ceramic bubbles, which can be seen embedded throughout and under a microscope, are very good at avoiding dirt buildup.

QCan Thermoshield® Save on my Energy Bills?

AYou can save up to 40% on your energy bills using Thermoshield®. Thermoshield® is a charter member of the Energy Star Program. It is Energy Star Rated. After 3-years of aging in a test done at the US Government premiere laboratories, ORNL, Thermoshield® Roof Coating was reducing heat flux through the roof by 66% -- the best of all the coatings tested.

ABOUT ENERGY SAVINGS:

The US Government sponsored a 3-year testing program to determine the benefits of reflective coatings in reducing heat flux into structures, and the effects of aging, dirt, air pollution, weathering, etc., on the effectiveness of the reflective coatings. The US Government's premiere lab Oak Ridge National Laboratory conducted these tests during a period expanding from 1997 to 2000. The 3-year term was chosen because, in extensive testing all over the USA, it was determined that roofing products lose initial reflectivity at first but at the end of 3 years reach a plateau where their reflectivity remains constant until eventual failure of the coating. The results showed that after loss of reflectivity by all the products tested, Thermoshield® heat reduction was an incredible 66% -- this was 30% better than the average of the other white coatings in the test.

QIs there any testing to support the above claim?

AYes. A preliminary report of field comparison of two identical houses, 25 miles south of St. Louis was just released and it showed substantial energy savings. The objective of the comparison was to determine the difference in ENERGY SAVINGS between a house painted with normal paint and a house painted with Thermoshield® Exterior Coat. Data for one year was collected. The results were a savings of 29% in electricity bills and 42% reduction in annual kilowatt/hour for the house painted with Thermoshield® Exterior Coat; quite an impressive performance!!

QWhat is Endothermic?

AEndothermic Reaction by definition is the description of a chemical reaction associated with the absorption of heat. Thermoshield® coatings have the ability to absorb large amounts of water. When they do, they swell up and become watertight. The ceramic micro-spheres used in our coatings have a great attraction to the water molecules and tend to hold on to them very tightly. When it cools at night, water is absorbed by the coating and when it heats up in the day, evaporation occurs, which is a cooling process. Because the ceramics are reluctant to release the water, much more energy is used in the evaporation process. The polymers release water slowly creating a constant flow of water vapor, that is, water gets hot until it becomes vapor and floats away taking with it heat. This is a great cooling effect in the coatings, in addition to the very high reflection and emittance of the products.

QWhat is Variable Permeability?

AThis feature, unique to Thermoshield®, allows the membrane to perform unlike any other coating. When conditions are dry, the polymers shrink and open pores to allow trapped water vapor to breathe out of the substrate, but when conditions are wet (raining, ponding of water, etc.), the polymers swell, close the pores, and the entire membrane becomes watertight.

QCan Thermoshield adapt to any climate, including Canada's?

AYes, Thermoshield is designed for Canada's climate for both summer and winter. For more information consult the technical guide (Thermoshield Technology, Thermoshield Great Science)

Q How can you estimate how much paint you'll need?

A See the data sheet (Instruction manual for each application)

Q Can I paint over old paint?

AYes, as long as it is in good condition and has good adherence. Sanding may be required.

QHow do you apply Thermoshield ?

AThermoshield can be applied with a sprayer and/or a roller.

QIs Thermoshield under guarantee?

AYes, between 10 and 15 years depending on the work.

QHow durable is Thermoshield ?

AOn average 50% more durable than traditional paints.

QWill Thermoshield save me as much in heating costs and cooling costs?

AYes, Thermoshield will save energy in both cases.

QIs Thermoshield a good choice to prevent mold in bathrooms ?

AYes, Thermoshield is micro-ceramic based. It evacuates humidity outwards.

QCan we apply it to a brick wall ?

AYes, Thermoshield breathes thanks to its micro-ceramic process, which is ideal for brick.

QWhich product should I use in an attic and what are the benefits?

AThermoshield can be applied directly to the inner roof, which lets it eliminate mold and evacuate humidity from the attic. It lets mineral wool keep its effectiveness.

QIs a base coat always necessary ?

AIt is preferable to apply one.

QOn the flat roof of rental, commercial, or industrial housing, why should I choose Thermoshield ?

ATo avoid warm or cool air escaping or entering the building and to have a seamless roof that is superior to other products on the market.

QThermoshield is slightly more expensive than other paints, why should I choose Thermoshield?

AThermoshield's energy savings more than make up for the purchase price. Comparatively to similar products that offer no every savings.

FAQ

QSur quelles surfaces et substrats puis-je appliquer les revêtements Thermoshield®?

RIls peuvent être appliqués sur le bois, l'OSB, la mousse isolante, le stuc existant, les parements en aluminium, le verre dense, le béton (pré-moulé, coulé, et en bloc), la maçonnerie, la céramique émaillée, la brique, les métaux, et sur plusieurs plastiques.  De plus, ils peuvent être appliqués sur différents substrats simultanément sans préparation spéciale.

Q Quelle est la différence entre le fini décoratif extérieur Thermoshield® et les finis synthétiques pour stuc ou béton?

R Thermoshield® est le seul système de fini décoratif extérieur acrylique, céramique, hydrofuge et non à base de ciment formulé pour les conditions difficiles de l'ouest montagneux.  Thermoshield® adhère à tous les substrats de construction communs et, une fois complété, donnera l'apparence luxurieuse du béton et du stuc, sans les problèmes inhérents associés aux systèmes de stuc synthétiques et traditionnels.

Q Est-ce que je peux utiliser les revêtements Thermoshield® pour réparer les systèmes de finitions isolantes pour l'extérieur (EIFS) et autres applications de revêtement synthétiques?

ROui  Thermoshield® est souvent utilisé pour économiser du béton et du stuc, et peut être peinturé, roulé, ou pulvérisé comme de la peinture normale.

QEst-ce que la couleur peut être un problème?

RNon. Thermoshield® peut s'assortir à pratiquement toute teinte ou nuance désirée.

QQuelle type de maintenance est requise?

RThermoshield® est fait à 40% de microbilles de céramique dispersées uniformément à travers la membrane.  Cette céramique est excellente pour éloigner la saleté et pour s'auto-nettoyer avec la pluie, ou même le vent.  Vous pouvez regarder un échantillon de nos revêtements sous un microscope et voir que beaucoup de la surface est composée de microbilles.  Aux Émirats arabes unis, il y a plusieurs toits plats Thermoshield®, et le sable et la poussière qui soufflent sont toujours présents dans cette partie du monde.  Quand on regarde ces toits après 7 ou 8 ans, ils sont très blancs, presque neufs.  En fait, certains consultants croyaient qu'ils avaient moins d'un an.  Les billes de céramique, qui peuvent être vues incrustées dans la surface sous un microscope, sont excellentes pour éviter l'accumulation de saleté.

QEst-ce que Thermoshield® peut réduire mes factures énergétiques?

RVous pouvez épargner jusqu'à 40% sur vos factures énergétiques en utilisant Thermoshield®.  Thermoshield® est un membre fondateur du programme Energy Star. Il est homologué Energy Star.  Après un test de 3 ans de vieillissement fait dans un des laboratoires américains renommés, l'ORNL, le revêtement de toit Thermoshield® réduisait le flux thermique à travers le toit de 66% -- le meilleur de tous les revêtements testés.

ÉCONOMIES D'ÉNERGIE

Le gouvernement américain a commandité un programme de test de 3 ans pour déterminer les bénéfices des revêtements réfléchissants pour réduire le flux thermique entrant dans les bâtiments, et les effets du temps, de la saleté, de la pollution de l'air, de l'érosion, etc., sur l'efficacité des revêtements réfléchissants. Le laboratoire renommé du gouvernement américain Oak Ridge National Laboratory a mené ces tests sur une période de 1997 à 2000.  Un terme de 3 ans a été choisi puisque, dans des tests extensifs aux États-Unis, il fut déterminé que les produits de toiture perdent leur réflectivité initiale d'abord mais qu'après 3 ans, ils atteignent un plateau où leur réflectivité reste constante jusqu'à la défaillance du revêtement.  Ces résultats démontrent qu'après cette perte de réflectivité chez tous les produits testés, la réduction thermique de Thermoshield® était un incroyable 66% -- 30% mieux que la moyenne des autres revêtements du test.

QEst-ce que des tests soutiennent les affirmations précédentes?

ROui.  Un rapport préliminaire de comparaison sur le terrain de deux maisons identiques, à 40 kilomètres au sud de St. Louis, vient d'être publié et démontre des économies d'énergie significatives.  Le but de cette comparaison était de déterminer les économies d'énergie entre une maison peinte avec de la peinture normale et une peinte avec le revêtement extérieur Thermoshield® .  Des données furent recueillies pendant un an.  Les résultats : des économies de 29% en factures électriques et de 42% en réduction annuelle de kilowatt/heure pour la maison peinte avec Thermoshield® Exterior Coat; une performance impressionnante!!

QQue signifie endothermique?

RUne réaction endothermique est une réaction chimique qui absorbe la chaleur.  Les revêtements Thermoshield® peuvent absorber un grande quantité d'eau.  Quand ils le font, ils gonflent et deviennent hydrofuges.  Les microbilles de céramique dans nos revêtements ont une grande attraction envers les molécules d'eau et les retiennent très fermement.  Avec la fraicheur de la nuit, l'eau est absorbée par le revêtement et avec la chaleur du jour se produit une évaporation, un processus de refroidissement.  Puisque la céramique ne veut pas relâcher l'eau, beaucoup plus d'énergie est nécessaire pour le processus d'évaporation.  Les polymères libèrent l'eau lentement, créant un flot constant de vapeur d'eau, c'est à dire que l'eau chauffe jusqu'à ce qu'elle devienne de la vapeur et flotte au loin amenant avec elle de la chaleur.  C'est un très bon effet refroidissant du revêtement, en plus de la haute réflectivité et émittance des produits.

QQu'est-ce que la perméabilité variable?

RCette caractéristique unique à Thermoshield® fait que la membrane n'agit comme aucun autre revêtement.  Quand les conditions sont sèches, le polymère rétréci et ouvre ses pores pour laisser sortir la vapeur d'eau qu'elle garde prisonnière, mais quand les conditions sont mouillées (pluie, flaques d'eau, etc.) le polymère enfle, ferme ses pores, et la membrane entière devient hydrofuge.

QEst-ce que Thermoshield est adapter à tous les climats et est conçu pour le climat Canadien ?

ROui Thermoshield est conçu pour le climat Canadien été et hiver. Pour plus d’informations consulter le guide technique (Thermoshield Technology, Thermoshield Great Science)

QComment évaluer la quantité de peinture requise?

RVoir fiche technique (Manuel d’instruction pour chaque application)

QPuis-je peindre la vieille peinture ?

ROui, à condition qu'elle soit intact et a une bonne adhérence. Un ponçage peut-être nécessaire.

QComment applique-t-on Thermoshield ?

RThermoshield s’applique avec un fusil et/ou rouleau.

QEst-ce que Thermoshield est garantie ?

ROui entre 10 et 15 ans tout dépendant des travaux.

QQuel est la durabilité de Thermoshield ?

REn moyenne 50% plus longtemps que les peintures traditionnelles.

Q Est-ce que Thermoshield va me faire économiser autant en chauffage et en climatisation ?

ROui Thermoshield permet une économie d’énergie dans les deux cas.

QEst-ce que Thermoshield serait bon pour éviter la moisissure dans une salle de bain ?

ROui Thermoshield est à base de micro-céramique. Elle évacue l’humidité par l’extérieur.

QPeut-on appliquer cette peinture sur un mur de brique ?

ROui Thermoshield respire grâce à son procédé de micro-céramique, idéal pour la brique.

QDans un entretoit de maison quel serait les avantages et les produits nécessaire ?

RThermoshield s’applique sur la base du toit intérieur, ce qui permettra d’éliminer la moisissure et de sortir l’humidité de l’entre-toit. Permet à la laine minéral de garder son efficacité.

QEst-ce qu’une couche de fond est toujours nécessaire ?

ROui c’est préférable.

QSur un toit plat édifice locatif, commercial industriel, pourquoi je choisirais Thermoshield ?

RPour empêcher la chaleur ou la climatisation de pénétrer ou sortir de l’édifice et d’avoir un toit sans joint et supérieur aux autres produits sur le marché.

QLa peinture Thermoshield intérieur est légèrement plus dispendieuse que les autres peintures, pourquoi je choisirais Thermoshield ?

RThermoshield vous permet de réaliser des économies d’énergie plus grande que le coût d’achat. Comparativement aux produits similaires qui ne donnent aucune économie d’énergie.

For more information on Thermoshield, contact