Testing

Summary of test reports

Thermoshield ®

Energy tests reports

Thermoshield ®

Quality

Thermoshield has undergone a variety of tests that demonstrate its effectiveness and its superior quality. Qualified product testing organizations tested Thermoshield products in a variety of real-life settings involving exposure to things like heat, cold, water, fire, UV rays, and harsh chemicals. Other tests focused on the coatings’ adhesive strength, bonding capabilities, insulation abilities and lifespan.

These tests have provided data that allows Thermoshield to prove that its products can perform as promised. The testing also provides publically available data that any interested party can see for themselves and use to compare Thermoshield to other products on the market.

The tests used the following internationally-accepted organizations’ standards to assess Thermoshield’s capabilities:

  • American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
  • Underwriters Laboratories (UL)
  • Japan Industrial Standards (JIS)

According to ASTM test C1549 performed by R&D; Services for the Cool Roof Rating Council, Thermoshield reflects 89% of the suns’s radiation. This leaves only 11% of the suns’s energy that could be absorbed by the building. However, here is where thermal emittance comes into play. This is a concept that’s a little harder to understand, but extremely important because it truly seperates Thermoshield from products on the market that only deal with solar reflectance. Basically, emittance is the relative ability of the surface to radiate away absorbed heat. So in the case of Thermoshield, it would be the ability to radiate away the 11% of the suns’s energy that wasn’t reflected away already.

DURING SUMMER

During summer, high Solar Reflectivity Index of SRI 110 to SRI 99, which functions on the basis of "Reflectivity of the best white surface and Thermal Emittance of the best black surface", prevents the exterior wall substrate from heating up. This prevents excessive Heat Built Up around the building, ensuring lower temperature of air that is taken in. SRI value of 100 means ZERO Solar Heat gain.

The High Emissivity of Thermoshield will also mean faster dissipation of heat, reducing the tendency for the unit to be a "Hot Lunch Box". According to the ASTM C1371 test performed by the Cool Roof Rating Council, Thermoshield will emit away 90% of the 12% of the sun's energy that was not reflected away already. This means that an additional 10.8% of the sun's energy, on top of the 88% that was reflected, is no longer being absorbed by the structure as heat.

So basically, an astounding 98.8% of the sun's energy is not allowed to become heat in the building. This is why Thermoshield's surface is cool to touch on extremely hot, sunny days. It is like having a R 40 insulation during the summer.

DURING WINTER

During winter: If wind driven rain hits the exterior wall and roof protected by Thermoshield, polymers swell and become watertight (Variable Permeability - coating membrane breading when dry). With ordinary paint, which does not prevent moisture to penetrate the exterior wall - even 1.5% moisture content in the wall with ordinary insulation (Styrofoam, rock wool etc), can reduce the "R" value by as much as whopping 38%! With a complete Thermoshield protection, Roof, Exterior and Interior you can expect 20% - 40% reduction on heating expense It is like having a R 21 insulation in winter.

In general, Thermoshield is not intended to replace the current insulation that these buildings have, but rather to compliment what is existing and make the building much, much more efficient. This in turn will allow your client to significantly reduce the kilowatts consumed to keep the buildings in the temperature range required.

Efficiency

Thermoshield - Tile test

Thermoshield - Hammer test

Thermoshield - Thermal Properties

Thermoshield - Flame demonstration

Thermoshield - Demo adhesion durability elongation

Tests

Sommaire des rapports de tests

Thermoshield ®

Sommaire des rapports Energy

Thermoshield ®

Qualité

Thermoshield a été soumis à une variété de tests qui démontrent son efficacité et sa qualité supérieure. Des organisations de test qualifiées ont testé les produits Thermoshield dans plusieurs situations réelles impliquant une exposition à la chaleur, au froid, à l'eau, au feu, aux rayons UV, et aux produits chimique nocifs. D'autres tests se sont concentrés sur la force de cohésion des revêtements, à ses capacités de liaison, à ses capacités d'isolation, et à sa durée de vie.

Ces tests ont produit des données qui permettent à Thermoshield de prouver que ses produits fonctionnent tel que promis. Les tests offrent aussi des données disponibles publiquement que toute partie intéressée peut consulter et utiliser pour comparer Thermoshield à d'autres produits sur le marché.

Les tests ont examiné les capacités de Thermoshield en suivant les normes des organisations suivantes acceptées mondialement :

  • American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
  • Underwriters Laboratories (UL)
  • Japan Industrial Standards (JIS)

Selon le test ASTM C1549 réalisé par R & D Services pour le Cool Roof Rating Council, Thermoshield reflète 89% des rayonnements solaire. Cela ne laisse seulement que 11% de l'énergie restante a être être absorbée par un bâtiment. Cependant, voici où l'émetteur thermique entre en jeu. C'est un concept un peu plus difficile à comprendre, mais extrêmement important car il sépare vraiment Thermoshield des produits sur le marché qui ne traitent que de la réflexion solaire. Fondamentalement, l'émittance est la capacité relative de la surface à éloigner la chaleur absorbée. Donc, dans le cas de Thermoshield, ce serait la capacité d'éloigner les 11% de l'énergie du soleil qui ne se reflète pas déjà.

DURANT L'ÉTÉ

Durant l'été, l'indice de réflexologie solaire élevée de SRI 110 à SRI 99, qui fonctionne sur la base de la "Réflectivité de la meilleure surface blanche et de l’émittance thermique de la meilleure surface noire", empêche le réchauffement du substrat de la paroi extérieure. Cela empêche la chaleur excessive de s'élever à l'intérieur du bâtiment, assurant une température plus basse de l'air absorbée. Valeur SRI de 100 signifie qu’aucun gain de chaleur solaire n’est présent.

La haute émissivité de Thermoshield entraîne également une dissipation plus rapide de la chaleur, ce qui réduit la tendance du bâtiment à être un véritable «fourneau». Selon le test ASTM C1371 effectué par Cool Roof Rating Council, Thermoshield émet 90% des 12% de l'énergie solaire qui n'a pas encore été réfléchie. Cela signifie que 10,8% de l'énergie solaire, en plus des 88% reflétée, n'est plus absorbée par la structure en tant que chaleur.

Donc, fondamentalement, un étonnant 98,8% de l'énergie du soleil n'est pas transformé en chaleur dans le bâtiment. C'est pourquoi la surface de Thermoshield est froide au touché durant jours extrêmement chauds et ensoleillés. C'est comme avoir une isolation R 40 pendant l'été.

DURANT L'HIVER

Durant l'hiver: Si la pluie entraînée par le vent frappe la paroi extérieure ou le toit protégé par Thermoshield, les polymères se gonfleront et deviendront étanches à l'eau (perméabilité variable - revêtement de la membrane en cas de séchage). Avec de la peinture ordinaire, qui n'empêche pas l'humidité de pénétrer dans la paroi extérieure - même 1,5% d'humidité dans la paroi avec une isolation ordinaire (Styrofoam, laine de roche, etc.), peut réduire la valeur "R" jusqu'à 38%!

Avec une protection Thermoshield complète (le toit, extérieur et intérieur), vous pouvez vous attendre à une réduction de 20% à 40% de frais de chauffage. C'est comme avoir une isolation R 21 en hiver.

En général, Thermoshield ne vise pas à remplacer l'isolation actuelle des bâtiments mais il vise plutôt à compléter ce qui existe et à rendre le tout beaucoup plus efficace. Cela permettra à votre client de réduire considérablement les kilowatts consommés pour conserver les bâtiments dans la plage de température requise.

Efficacité

Thermoshield  - Test de la tuile

Thermoshield  - Test du marteau

Thermoshield  - Propriétés thermiques

Thermoshield  - Démonstration de la chaleur

Thermoshield  - Démonstration adhésion et durabilité